Friday Favorites

Can someone press the “pause” button?  I feel like the most wonderful time of the year is going to be over before I’m able to start enjoying it.  Thankfully the next few weekends (and week) are full of Christmas festivities so I’m sure I’ll being feeling the jolly spirit in no time (even though it will be 70 degrees outside this weekend).

Here are my favorites of the week (sorry, I’m not sorry they are all food-related):

Favorite Flaky:  French Onion Pastry Puffs.  It’s the best of both mine and Big Guy’s word:  he adores French onion soup, I adore “appy” hour.

 

Favorite From Scratch:  Needle Point Pasta in Light Blue Cheese Sauce.  Big Guy asks if we can make homemade pasta about once a month.  I never know if he is kidding or not.

 

Favorite Addictive:  Cinnamon Sugar Wonton Crisps.  Sweet.  Salty. Crunchy. and Fried.  I wouldn’t trust myself near a bowl of these.

 

Favorite DIY:  Chocolate Coffee Stirring Spoons.   So festive and fun.  These would make perfect gifts.

 

Favorite Slurp:  Creamy Parsnip Soup with Cornbread Croutons, Crispy Bacon and Pomegranate Arils.   I want to have a soup party.  Seriously.  Those toppings are where it’s at.

 

Favorite Flavor and Texture:  Thin and Chewy Spiced Oatmeal Cookies.  I’m still trying to find a day to do all my holiday baking…Monday afternoon might be my day.

 

Favorite Date-Night-In:  Brown Butter Scallops with Parmesan Risotto.   Fancy.

 

Favorite Obsessed:  Peppermint White Chocolate Chip Cookie Trifle.  I have a “thing” for trifles.  And I have no idea where it came from.  But this.  THIS is the trifle of my dreams.

 

Favorite Weeknight Dinner:  Sicilian Rice Ball Casserole.  In between the cocktails and cookies, there’s a thing called balance.

 

Favorite Festive:  Christmas Sangria. My favorite thing about this sangria:  ginger beer! Oh, and the cinnamon-sugar rim.

Merry, merry!

Leave a Reply

