One-Pan Pasta with Ricotta and Artichokes

The title is a lie.

At least it was in my house.

This recipe took me two pots – because we aren’t fancy enough to have fresh pasta in our grocery stores.

So I had to boil water and cook up some {gluten-free} linguine noodles.

If you’re like me, this ends up being Two-Pan Pasta with Ricotta and Artichokes. 

And another thing our small town doesn’t carry, frozen artichoke artichoke quarters.  Thankfully, the canned worked just fine.

Before I added the cheese on top I felt that the dish was a little “liquidy” – so I actually spooned out a lot of the excess.  To avoid this step, I would cut down on the amount of stock you add to the recipe.  I honestly think a cup would be plenty.

Now that I’ve totally told you what’s wrong with this dish, let me tell you what’s right.

THE FLAVOR!

I adore cooked mushrooms.  Like, I could eat a whole pan by myself.  This dish is very similar to your favorite spaghetti – garlic, fire roasted tomatoes, meaty mushrooms but you add in some artichokes for a little somethin’-somethin’.

In addition to mozzarella there’s also some ricotta which adds a level of creaminess that’s fantastic.

This dish is:

super comforting

carb-alicious

meaty (without meat)

full of flavor

creamy and rich

Oh, and I thought that the final results looked festive.

Red tomatoes, white cheese and green basil.

2 weeks and 2 days until Christmas.  Eeeek.

Leave a Reply

