{virtual} coffee chat

If we were having coffee this morning…I’m sure we would agree that the weekends go by WAY too fast.

If we were having coffee this morning….I would tell you all about my weekend with my parents.  They arrived on Friday afternoon and we enjoyed a weekend full of good eats.  We said our “goodbyes” early on Sunday morning because Dad had to be back in time for the Panthers kick-off at 1 pm.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that I channeled my inner Italian and made lasagna with bechamel and bolognese on Friday night along with a salad fresh from the garden.  The lasagna recipe came from i am a food blog‘s cookbook and it was a good one.  This lasagna is a little different in that the only veggies are onion and celery (I left out the carrot because of Momma’s allergy) and tomato paste.  It also only includes mozzarella and Parmesan – no ricotta.  It’s super meaty (beef and pork) and was super comforting.  The leftovers were even better last night.

If we were having coffee this morning….We’d talk about food that is better as leftovers – lasagna is always better the next day.  I would ask you which foods you like best after they’ve had time to hang out in the fridge.

If we were having coffee this morning….I would tell you that I’m really enjoying our latest wine club shipment from Portalupi.  I opened two of their bottles this weekend and I was impressed.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you about our field trip/adventure on Saturday.  Big Guy and I took my parents to Durham for a little shopping and lunch.  We first stopped at Parker and Otis because I knew my Mother would just adore the store.  And she did.  I seriously could get lost in their for HOURS.  After Parker and Otis, we headed down the street to Rose’s Meat Market and Sweet Shop to pick up chicken for dinner.  We couldn’t help but drool over the sweets.  I’m kicking myself for not bringing home a chocolate tart.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you about lunch at Dos Perros.  Lunch was good but it probably isn’t a place I would return – too many other places I want to try.  We started with a round of drinks (Paloma for me!) and some guacamole.  The guacamole was really yummy.  For lunch I decided to order two small plates – Platanos Rellanos (jalapeno and cheese stuffed plantain fritters with cream and pineapple salsa) and Ensalada (bibb lettuce, radishes, goat cheese, and bacon with serrano pepper-hibiscus dressing).  I was impressed with the freshness of the salad but I was underwhelmed by the flavor.  When serrano is in the description of the dish, I expect a little heat.  Same goes for the fritters – though the pineapple salsa was amazing.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that the rest of our Saturday afternoon was filled with football and cooking!

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that the highlight of Saturday evening’s dinner was dessert.  Oh.em.gee.  Heaven in a bowl.  Homemade banana fosters banana bread with homemade coconut ice cream.  Both were incredible and putting these two recipes together for dessert is probably one of my best ideas in all my 32 years on earth.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you about our fire pit conversations from last night.  We both poured ourselves a drink (red, red wine for me) and chatted by the fire until the sun faded away.  It was a nice way to end the weekend.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would update you on my Fall Reading List.  I finished Eight Hundred Grapes a couple of weeks ago and it’s one of my favorite books ever.  Having been in Sonoma earlier in the year, this book really resonated with me.  I’m trying to convince Big Guy to read it next.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would remind you of this:

 

 

Leave a Reply

