Gingered Sweet Potato Soup with Toasted Coconut and Pecans

I’ve never really been a soup person.  I mean, I’ll enjoy the occasional bowl during the Fall and Winter or a refreshing bowl of gazpacho in the Summer but it’s never been my favorite.

Until recently.

I’m craving soup – I even ordered soup in a restaurant.  (I never do that.)

Maybe it’s all the rain we’ve had recently.  Or maybe it’s because soup is just so darn comforting.

Whatever it is, I’m obsessed.

Gingered Sweet Potato Soup with Toasted Coconut and Pecans is the perfect end to a long work day.  It takes less than 30 minutes to prepare and it’s a super thick soup making it hearty and filling.  Even Big Guy adored this bowl of soup.

The soup is made up of onions, sweet potatoes, lots of fresh ginger, vegetable broth, white beans (this is the secret ingredient that made Big Guy think there was cream in the soup!), and some spices:  pepper, salt, cinnamon (I doubled the amount) and red pepper flakes.

On top, toasted coconut and pecans.  The flavors and textures were awesome.

A little kick from the ginger.

Warmth from the cinnamon.

Spice from the red pepper flakes.

Sweetness from the coconut.

Nuttiness from the pecans.

Here are some other soups that have caught my eye recently:

Chicken Pot Pie Soup

Fresh New England Clam Chowder with Brown Butter Garlic Croutons

Curried Butternut Squash Soup

Coconut-Curry Pumpkin Soup

Thai Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

