Creamy, Light Butternut Squash Macaroni and Cheese

Monday’s can be rough.

But what if I told you that you can have creamy, delicious mac ‘n cheese without the guilt?

That would make Monday totally doable.

Macaroni and cheese is such the American comfort food.  Kids and adults alike love this classic dish.

I did a little “research” and found that mac ‘n cheese in the 1800s was a food for high society.  It’s also a dish that started as a casserole – even more reason to throw away the boxed stuff.

The recipe for “macaroni and cheese” first appeared in a cookbook in 1824 called The Virginia Housewife.  And while I’m sure this recipe is oh-so-different (especially with the addition of a secret veggies) I’m quite positive it’s just as dreamy and comforting.

mac and cheese

Here’s how I personalized this recipe:

Instead of fat-free milk, I used about 1/2 cup of 2% that was leftover in my fridge and then the rest was almond milk.

I used gluten-free quinoa noodles.

I also used gluten-free seasoned Panko breadcrumbs.

The end result was heavenly.

Cheesy.

Really cheesy.

Creamy.

Filling.

Comforting.

Everything that mac ‘n cheese should be.

And don’t worry – you can’t taste the butternut squash.

 

 

Leave a Reply

