Salisbury Steak with Mushroom Gravy plus Herby Peas and Mashed Sweet Potatoes

This is your Sunday night dinner.  Just go ahead and write out your grocery list.  And add a bottle of red wine to the list – this dinner deserves it.

When I had some leftover ground beef from making meatballs on Friday, I knew that the leftovers were destined for Salisbury steak.  I have no idea why I was craving this comfort dinner because I honestly haven’t had Salisbury steak in probably a decade.  Despite the layers of flavor, this dinner comes together pretty quickly.  The ground beef is mixed with grated onion, garlic, salt and pepper before being shaped into patties.  The patties are then cooked in a cast-iron skillet for about 3 minutes on each side.  Remove the steaks from the pan.  I didn’t add any butter to the skillet because there was some fat from the ground beef.  So I simply sauteed the mushrooms (I used shiitake – thanks, Jeremy!) until softened.  Add in the wine (or beef broth) and more onion.  Cook for about 2 minutes and then add in the beef broth that was mixed with the flour (I used a gluten-free brown rice flour) and bring to a boil.  My gravy began to thicken almost immediately – but allow to cook for about 5 minutes.  Add the patties into the pan with the gravy and add a splash of red wine vinegar.  Cook for 2 minutes or until the Salisbury steaks are warmed.

For the peas I simply cooked frozen peas according to the package directions.  While the peas were cooking, I sauteed some sliced onion in 1 tablespoon of butter.  I added the cooked peas to the sauteed onions and then finished with a DIY garden salt.  

And while I’m telling you about the potatoes last, I actually started the potatoes first.  Chop up about a pound of potatoes (I did a little more to guarantee leftovers for Big Guy) and place in a pot of water.  Bring to a boil and cook until tender.  I added in about 1/3 cup 2% milk (it’s what I had on hand) plus salt and pepper.  Mash to the consistency of your liking.

Perfection.

The Salisbury Steak was incredibly flavorful and every bite of the mushrooms was heavenly.  Please, please, please use quality beef – it makes such a difference in the taste of your meal.

The peas were bright and the perfect compliment to the meaty beef and mushrooms.  The potatoes were light and sweet and soaked up some of the luscious gravy.

All that’s missing was the glass of red wine.

Leave a Reply

