Friday Favorites

Friday came fast this week!  I’m guessing because it was another whirlwind week with lots of after-work activities and Big Guy traveling.  We’re on the road this weekend for my nephew’s first birthday party (talk about fast – how is he already one??!?!!) but not before a date night this evening.  And I am more than excited that I don’t have to prep for a tailgate during this date night.  I know that the weekend will fly by – they always do – but I’m determined to make it amazing.  Here’s my favorites of the week:

Favorite Meatless Monday:  Mom’s Mayan Sweet Potato Polenta Bake.    This automatically got added to the menu for next week when I came across the recipe yesterday.  So comforting!

 

Favorite Twist:  Roasted Pumpkin Hummus.  A perfect appetizer for this time of the year.

 

Favorite Wanderlust:  10 Unusual Beaches You Have Never Heard Of.  I’m a beach girl through and through.  I’ve been to the black sand beach in Hawaii but the Pink Sand Beach makes me want to pack my beach bag.

 

Favorite Bowl of Comfort:  Spiced Turkey and Chickpea Chili with Chermoula, Labneh and Pita Croutons.    Fall is officially here – bring on the soup, chili and stew.

 

Favorite Update:  Apple Released Over 150 Emojis and We’re Ecstatic.  As I said yesterday, “my emoji game has never been stronger.”  Here’s a list of all the new emojis.  Don’t act like you’re not curious.

 

Favorite Sunday Tradition:  Apple and Caramelized Onion Pizza with Pumpkin Seed Pangrattato.  Big Guy might have to be convinced to add this to the menu – he has some strange aversion to savory cooked apples.

 

Favorite Layers:  Real Deal Caramel Cake.  I can’t even handle.

 

Favorite Southern:  Buttered Pecan Biscuits.  We’re hosting a little get together next Friday night to watch the ECU game.  Of course all I’m really concerned about is the menu.  And I simply cannot get an idea out of my head.  It involves country ham.  You’ll have to wait and see what actually comes from my current obsession.

 

Favorite Flavors:  Pomegranate Roasted Carrots with Feta and Brown Butter.  Not only does this side dish sound delicious, it’s gorgeous!

 

Favorite Spiked:  Sparkling Hard Apple Cider.  So much fall in one pitcher.

Cheers to the weekend!  (and the champs emoji!!!!)

Leave a Reply

