Lamb Kofta Lettuce Wraps

I love it when a recipe surprises me.  When I planned our Friday night dinner last week, I wasn’t expecting anything over-the-top.  But the end result was absolutely incredibly and quite possibly one of the best things we ate all weekend long.

I was also pleasantly surprised by a bottle of French wine that was really delicious.  I typically don’t love French wines but this wine (for the label click on over to yesterday’s post) paired perfectly with a low-key Friday night and even better with the lamb wraps.  

I sipped a glass of wine while we prepped food for the tailgate on Saturday.  Big Guy and I shared the rest of the bottle while sharing a platter of lettuce wraps.

lamb

I made a few changes to the recipe – but nothing too crazy.

Instead of using a mixture of lamb and sirloin – I used local lamb that came to us through SoCo Farm to Door delivery.  I also went a little heavy on the cinnamon and allspice because I love those flavors with lamb.  I also used an ounce of gluten-free bread crumbs to save me from having to pull out the food processor (trust me – there was enough going on in the kitchen).  I cooked my own rice but the addition of the olive oil and paprika was magical.  The rice was absolutely amazing – and rice isn’t something that typically impresses me.  And my favorite part of this meal – we were able to use home grown lettuce for the wraps.  The sauce is a mixture of 2% Greek Yogurt (so thick and creamy!), cucumber, red onion plus some salt and pepper.

These lettuce wraps were fantastic.  There was so much flavor in the lamb koftas (meatballs!).

Savory, a little sweet, tangy and herbaceous.

And perfect with a glass of red.

Leave a Reply

