Banana-Nut Muffins

My coffee table is covered in little finger smudges.  So are the glass doors.

But my heart is so full after a couple of days with these two (and Maggie!).

My sister had plans to be in Raleigh for a couple of days and she decided that since they were so close to us, they might as well come for a couple of nights.  They arrived Saturday morning (while we were at the ECU game) and I couldn’t want to get home from the game so I could get Princess hugs and baby kisses.  Haines turned 4 last week (though she is totally 4 going on 14) and little Deacon turns one this weekend (where does the time go?).  Haines was so curious about the garden and Uncle Big Guy was more than excited to teach her a thing or two about the lettuce and carrots that are growing.  Deacon is quite the “Mommy’s boy” but I did squeeze in a few snuggles.

In preparation for their visit, I made muffins!  Oh, and stocked up on organic milk and Cheerios and since that’s not something I typically keep around the house.

In between prepping food for the tailgate and a delicious dinner on Friday (more on that later in the week), I made Banana-Nut Muffins to have for breakfast.  I’ve tried so many banana muffin recipes over the years but this one seemed to be a hit – Big Guy all the way down to the little man loved these muffins.  The main difference between these muffins and my Momma’s banana muffins are the use of butter instead of oil and brown sugar instead of white sugar.  The batter is super thick but this recipe makes a ton of muffins – 2 dozen!  So I actually took some out to our tailgate on Saturday morning.

I woke up on Sunday morning to find both little ones and my sister gobbling up the muffins in the living room while watching cartoons (and drinking milk).

Other activities from the weekend:  Playing with the colander; running the dishwasher 8 times (not even kidding); making heart-shaped pizza; fire pit with s’mores; a trip to the popcorn shop (Haines picked out the Skittles flavor);  and we all went to a party with my gym friends on Sunday evening.

The weekend was jam-packed but I wouldn’t have changed it for the world.

And thankfully I get to see them all again in a matter of days!

2 thoughts on “Banana-Nut Muffins

Leave a Reply

