{virtual} coffee chat

If we were having coffee this morning…I would wish that we could transport ourselves back to Ocean Isle Beach.  Big Guy and I had a glorious 4-day weekend and I wasn’t ready to return to reality.

If we were having coffee this morning…We’d chat about fun fall adventures – such as visiting the pumpkin patch like we did last week.  Our front porch screams “Fall Y’all” with hay, pumpkins and mums.

If we were having coffee this morning…I’d give you a recap of our weekend.  And of course, we kicked off our long weekend with lunch at Bento Box in Wilmington on Friday.  They were breaking down a tuna when we arrived and I couldn’t not have some.  It was so incredible fresh.  Bento Box isn’t necessary my favorite for inventive rolls but the freshness and quality of the fish is out of this world.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you all about an incredible night we had with my in-laws.  We laughed and shared drinks before heading to a new-to-me restaurant in Little River, The Parson’s Table.  The food was incredible but the company was even better.  The history on the restaurant that is in an old church is fascinating and I would highly recommend you visit if you’re ever in the area.  On Saturday morning, we headed out for coffee at my favorite coffee shop in the world, Drift.  It was wonderful spending quality time with Terri and Butch – thank you again for a lovely dinner and breakfast!

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that we tailgated a little differently on Saturday.  Our game wasn’t until 7:30pm, so we headed back out once we ran some errands and got ourselves put together for a few appetizers.  We paid a visit to Sharkey’s and then ended back up at Drift to share a bottle of wine and a cheese plate.  Both were absolutely delicious and I can’t wait to have more happy hours at Drift.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that it was so sad to see the Pirate’s lose on Saturday night but we weren’t going to let that (or Monday) ruin our Sunday.  We enjoyed another coffee date at Drift and then we were off on an adventure.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you all about the new Shallotte River Swamp Park that is a hop-skip-and-jump away from OIB.  The park opened earlier this year and when we were making plans for our long fall weekend at the beach, we thought WHY NOT?!?!  We spent a little over 2 hours soaring above the swamps including 10 zip line stations (one 90 feet feet) from one tower or tree to another.  The experience was well worth the money as the park is something you have to see to understand how intricate and well planned it truly is.  We were paired with another party of 2 and had 2 personal guides with us the entire time.  So fun!

pumpkin beer

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that we spent the afternoon post-zip line living up to the term “Sunday Funday.”  While coming through Wilmington on Friday, we stopped at Lighthouse Beer and Wine to pick up a variety of pumpkin beers for a fall beer tasting.  Our line-up was pretty strong.  Unfortunately, I just don’t think Big Guy and I are craft beer people.  And I’m not embarrassed to say that.  We found ourselves pouring out a lot of beer.

winner

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that we based our score on smoothness, uniqueness, quality of pumpkin flavor and whether we would buy the beer again.  At the end of the day, Shipyard Pumpkinhead won.  (I think next year we’ll stick to wine tasting.)

nuts

If we were having coffee this morning…I would share a super simple but awesome recipe for herbed cashews.  the cashews were tossed with a little oil, salt, lots of pepper, fresh rosemary and garlic powder and then baked until slightly browned.  The perfect nibble while beer tasting.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that we ended Sunday with an incredible sunset and a 4-cheese pizza.  We made the most of our Monday morning off work and headed back out for coffee, breakfast and a long walk on the opposite end of the island.

If we were having coffee this morning….I would assure you that I’m already trying to find another weekend to go back to Ocean Isle.

Leave a Reply

