Sweet Potato, Balsamic Onion and Proscuitto Pizza

If Pizza Sunday wasn’t already our “thing” I would totally be signing up for Pizza Friday.

A bottle of Pinot and a slice of pizza while curled up on the couch sound like the perfect end to any week.  Any day, for that matter.

Pizza is such a simple thing, really, but I love trying new and unusual pizza toppings.  Each and every pizza we make and devour is different – even if it’s just changing one ingredient.  And I absolutely love that.

Our latest creation was from Food and Wine and featured mashed sweet potatoes instead of a sauce.  Genius.  Big Guy really loved this idea because we were able to use one of our homegrown sweet potatoes.  To make the mashed potatoes, I simply cleaned off the potato, poked it a few times with a knife, wrapped it loosely with a damp paper towel and microwaved for about 6 minutes or until tender.  Once cool enough to touch, I removed the fresh from the potato and mashed with a fork.  I added a little bit of whole milk to loosen it up and some salt.

For the crust we used the fool-proof recipe from Jessica’s cookbook, Seriously Delish.   (I think I may give this cookbook to everyone on my list this year just so they can have this pizza crust recipe.)  The only deviation I make from the recipe is using bread flour instead of all-purpose (but I’ve totally used all-purpose in the past and it works like a charm).

In addition to the sweet potatoes, this pizza has balsamic onions and proscuitto.  The original recipe called for soppressata but unfortunately our small town grocery store just doesn’t have that in stock.  Proscuitto is an Italian dry-cured ham and soppressata is an Italian dry salami.  I am not a huge fan of proscuitto by itself but I loved it on this pizza after the oven crisps it up a bit.

The pizza is kept simple by only using shredded mozzarella.  We always buy a ball and then place it in the freezer for about 10 minutes before shredding.  Shredding the cheese makes for optimal coverage.  And that’s important, folks.

And the perfect pairing for this pizza:  Pinot.  But not just any Pinot, a bottle of 2013 Deer Gate Pinot Noir from one of my favorite winemakers, Iron Horse Vineyards.

I savored every sip and every bite of this wine and pizza.

Pinot and pizza.  It’s my favorite.

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato, Balsamic Onion and Proscuitto Pizza

Leave a Reply

