Mushroom, Corn and Black Bean Tacos

Can you believe that I’ve add this recipe tucked away since 2011?  I’ve pulled it out several times thinking I would put it on the dinner menu but I just never made it happen.  Until last night.

And I must say, these Mushroom, Corn and Black Bean Tacos were far better than I imagined.  The recipe is rather basic and only takes 20 minutes so I didn’t have my expectations set too high.  But the flavor and texture was phenomenal.

Mushrooms and black beans add just the right amount of “meatiness” to these meatless tacos.  And there is no lack of flavor thanks to dried oregano, garlic, chili powder, cumin, salsa verde, hot sauce and lime juice.  Instead of poblano, I used 2 chopped jalapenos with the seeds removed.  And the only other substitution I used was feta instead of queso fresco.  I find feta to be so much more flavorful.

The tacos are topped with a sprinkle of feta, a dollop of Greek yogurt (or sour cream) and a hefty dose of cilantro for lots of freshness and flavor.

The texture was perfect, the flavors were perfect and it took no time to prepare.

So if you don’t have dinner plans – make tonight taco Tuesday.

One thought on “Mushroom, Corn and Black Bean Tacos

Leave a Reply

