Friday Favorites {first fall friday}

Wednesday officially marked the first day of Fall so I guess I can’t tune out all the pumpkin spice this and apple that any longer.  Our first weekend of fall includes a low-key Friday night with a football-filled Saturday.  Sunday I am meeting up with one of my best friends who lives in Houston.  She’s in town visiting family and I’m so glad we’re able to squeeze in a lunch date.  The last time I saw Natalie was when she and her husband came to visit last November.  Between then and now she’s gone from a family of three to a family of four.   In the spirit of fall, my favorites this week are all fall-inspired.

{image}

 

Favorite Slice:  Sweet ‘n Spicy Roasted Butternut Squash Pizza with Cider Caramelized Onions and Bacon.  Pizza is an anytime food – summer, spring, winter or fall.  But when you put these toppings on the pizza, it becomes a fall pizza.

 

Favorite Crunch:  Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Granola.  The perfect yogurt topping.  And I love that there’s actually real pumpkin in the recipe.

 

Favorite Tips:  6 Ways to Make Instagram Both Beautiful and Bearable.   Last, it’s (just) Instagram.  More specifically it’s your Instagram.  Do what feels good to you.  Stand on a chair in a restaurant, style your friends hands just right.  Forget the photograph and just dig into those cheese fries.  Do what feels good to you. Perfection has it’s charm, but so does a real real life.  Ain’t no shame in the game.

 

Favorite Flavors:  Mustard Burgers with Crispy Goat Cheese and Fig-Onion Compote.  That crispy goat cheese, though…

 

Favorite Cheeeeese:  Roasted Green Chile Queso Dip.  This totally has nothing to do with fall except I’ll make it as a tailgate snack.  But what I really want is a bowl of dip, a platter of chips and a big margarita.  With salt.

 

Favorite Cozy:  Basic Rolled Turtleneck.  Summer clothes are my best friend.  But I do adore a comfy sweater or turtleneck.

 

Favorite In Season:  Garlic Spaghetti Squash with Herbs.  Winter Squash > Summer Squash

 

Favorite Tex-Mex:  Veggie Fajita Stuffed Sweet Potatoes with a Chipotle Drizzle.  These kind of “bridge the gap” between summer and fall.  And Big Guy will love ’em because, well, sweet potatoes.

 

Favorite Twist:  PB&J Sandwich Donut.  And because now that it’s fall and I’m not laying out at the pool, it doesn’t matter if I gain 5 pounds.

 

Favorite Cocktail Hour:  Blackberry and Meyer Lemon Gin and Tonics.  This may just be a drink that Big Guy and I can agree on.

 

Happy Fall, Y’all!!!!

Leave a Reply

