Friday Favorites

Hallelujah!  We made it to Friday.  This was my first full week at work in I don’t know how long and boy, oh, boy am I ready for the weekend.  Big Guy’s been in Atlanta all week for an intense training and I’m kind of tired of hanging out with myself.  We have a date night planned this evening at our favorite place in Eastern NC and then tomorrow we’ll be cheering on the Pirates at home.  The weather looks all kinds of gorgeous so I know we’ll be spending time outside all weekend long.  Here are my favorites of the week:

Favorite Fascinating:  Mind-Bending Photos that Seem Fake but are Actually Real.   I can’t get over some of these photos.

Favorite Back to Basics:  Buttery Layered Buttermilk Biscuits.   Sure, I’ve made biscuits before.  But I’m ready to master a biscuit recipe.  And by “master” I mean I want to make the best biscuit Big Guy’s ever tasted.

Favorite Fall Appetizer:  Caramel Apple Cream Cheese Spread.  How amazing would this be on a pretzel?  And you only need five ingredients.

Favorite DIY:  Super Easy Garden Herb Salt.  Can we add this to the list of what I’m doing this weekend?  Because I don’t want any of my herbs to go to waste.

Favorite Football Food:  Slow-Cooker Blackberry and Jalapeno Chicken Sandwiches.  Last year I made a pulled pork sandwich for several games that was devoured each and every time.  I have a feeling that would happen with this sandwich, too.

Favorite Toasty:  Seasoned Buttered Crackers.  I’m pretty sure these would be just as addictive as crack.  And they’d be perfect for so many things.  I’d like to have them at an oyster roast.

Favorite In Season:  Bacon Wrapped Fig and Honeycrisp Apple Salad with Salted Caramel Pecans.   This salad is full of so much good stuff.  But the bacon wrapped figs are probably my favorite part.

Favorite Sunday Supper:  Creole Chicken with Mushroom Dirty Rice.   I love dirty rice.  And chicken thighs are my thing.

Favorite Layers:  Salted-Caramel Banana Pudding. I’m missing my family in a fierce way.  And banana pudding will always and forever make me think of my Momma.  I love this fun twist on a classic.

Favorite Cocktail:  Apple Cider Moscow Mule. We have a well-stocked bar.  But there are two things we don’t have:  ginger vodka and Moscow mule cups.  And now I need both.

Happy Weekend!

One thought on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

