Boozy Brunch {Ham and Gruyère Belgian Waffles with Sautéed Pears plus a basil 75}

There is nothing better than waking up on a Sunday and knowing that you have Monday off of work.  (and yes, I’m still recapping the weekend – it was a good one!)

In fact, I hate that I sometimes let Monday ruin my Sunday.  But this past Sunday, I lived like it was Saturday.

I knew that after a late game on Saturday, we would sleep in on Sunday and I wanted to take advantage of the long weekend and having overnight guests.

And while we don’t typically make or eat brunch, I couldn’t resist a Boozy Brunch.

I can’t believe I don’t use our waffle maker more often – the last time was in February!

Ham and Gruyère Belgian Waffles with Sautéed Pears are the perfect brunch food.  The waffles are full of cheese and ham and then topped with sweet pears for the ultimate sweet and savory combination.  The waffles are light and airy on the inside but perfectly crisped on the outside.

And to make this brunch boozy – a champagne cocktail!  I mentioned having a Basil 75 at my birthday brunch a couple of weeks ago.  Well I decided to try recreating the bubbly cocktail on Sunday and I can’t lie – it turned out pretty awesome.

To make a Basil 75:

Juice 2 limes and 2 lemons in a small bowl (this is enough for about 6 cocktails).  For each drink, muddle 1 ounce of gin, 1 squeeze of agave, 1/2 ounce of the lemon/lime juice and 3 basil leaves.  Strain into a wine glass.  Fill the glass with prosecco (or champagne) and then top with a basil leaf.

It’s sweet, tart, bubbly and herbaceous.

My perfect drink.

Cheers to the weekend!

Leave a Reply

