Roasted BBQ Drumsticks with Cowboy Beans

All I have remaining on my list of “five things” are chocolate chip cookies.  And cookies are totally happening this weekend.  And they’re going to be chewy and full of chocolate.

I knocked out BBQ chicken earlier this week with Roasted BBQ Drumsticks.  I forget how much I love drumsticks – I typically opt for a chicken thigh.

And making these drumsticks couldn’t be easier.  Sprinkle the chicken with salt and pepper before roasting for 20 minutes at 450.  While the chicken is roasted, prepare the sauce which is a simple combination of tomato paste, soy sauce (I used tamari), sugar and pepper.  The soy sauce is the secret ingredient in my opinion.  Once the 20 minutes is up, brush one side of the drumsticks with the sauce and bake for 5 more minutes.  Then flip, brush with the remaining sauce and cook another 5 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.

On the side, jazzed up baked beans.  Saute a chopped onion and bell pepper in a little EVOO until softened.  To the veggies you add ketchup, brown sugar, water, molasses, chili powder, salt and paprika.  Allow that to come to a simmer and then add in the pinto beans.  I also roasted up a few asparagus for a little green on the plate.

BBQ

The chicken was simple but delicious – please use quality chicken – it makes such a difference.  And the beans were my favorite part of the plate.  Sweet yet savory.

Lemon Bars

Burger

Spicy Margarita

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Barbecue Chicken

 

 

Leave a Reply

