Chicken with Italian Sweet-Sour Fennel {with herbed green beans}

It’s no surprise to anyone that knows me that I’m kind of obsessed with SoCo Farm and Food.  I’ve mentioned SoCo multiple times and over the past two years of knowing Kimberly and Jeremy they’ve become our friends.  I am so excited about their new venture and even more excited that August is here which means the home deliveries are officially in full swing.

We have expanded our restaurant’s vision of eating well and eating local to include home delivery of scratch-made, heat-and-eat meals. Now restaurant-quality, frozen meals—along with other items, including local bread, dairy, farm-fresh eggs, beer and wine–can be delivered right to your door. Even if you’re not in our dining room, eating well and eating local is still easy.

The best thing about the home delivery is that there is something for everyone.  Big Guy and I will primarily purchase raw ingredients (cheese, meats and eggs) plus coffee, wine and beer.  However, I know of couples who are using it primarily for weeknight meals – buying 2 or 3 pre-made dinners each week.  I love that you are not automatically charged or sent anything – instead, you get to shop online each week and the food is delivered the next week.  I also want to note that I’ve compared prices, and the cost of their meat, cheese and eggs is very competitive.  And you can’t beat knowing exactly where your food came from – my cheese came from the neighboring town of Mount Olive.

My first delivery arrived on Tuesday with fresh eggs, blueberry goat cheese and chicken.

soco delivery

Before the chicken even arrived on my doorstep, I had plans to make Chicken with Italian Sweet-Sour Fennel.  

I split the chicken breasts in half to make cutlets and seasoned with salt, pepper and rosemary (I used fresh rosemary).  The chicken is sauteed and then removed from the pan once cooked through.  To make the sweet-sour fennel, add the sliced fennel to the pan and saute.  Chicken broth (I used 1 cup and left out the wine), raisins and vinegar are added to the pan and then simmered.  Add the chicken back into the pan and sprinkle with pine nuts and fennel fronds.

chicken

And on the side, herbed green beans.  I used a mixture of fresh oregano and parsley for my herbs.  Simply steam your beans, toss with olive oil, salt and the herbs.

chicken with fennel and green beans

This dinner was incredible.  The chicken was tender and moist.  The fennel added a divine hint of sweet anise and the pine nuts gave a little crunch and nuttiness to the chicken skillet.  I loved the use of the fennel fronds for a little freshness.  The green beans were simple and herbaceous but so perfect as to not steal from the flavor of the chicken.

p.s.  If you’re in the Wilson/Rocky Mount/Greenville/Goldsboro area, here is the link for the home delivery membership.  

p.s.s. I am not being paid to sing SoCo’s praises (well, they may give me an extra pour of wine when I eat there – wink wink).  I honestly love SoCo, the fact that they source locally and their food is some of the best I’ve eaten in my life.

p.s.s.s. The vegetarian lasagna is life changing.

p.s.s.s.s. I may have picked the blueberries in the cobbler featured below.

farm to door

One thought on “Chicken with Italian Sweet-Sour Fennel {with herbed green beans}

Leave a Reply

