Tazza Kitchen {restaurant review}

Y’all know I love dating my husband. {Which is a good thing.}

But life lately has been hectic.  And all over the place.

I’m not complaining – just stating some facts.

So our usual Friday night date nights and Saturday dates at home have had to fall to the wayside.

But don’t think we’re not still dating – we just have to go out on a date when it works.  So this past Sunday, on our way home from visiting my family, we made a stop in Raleigh for lunch and pizza ingredients.

Tazza Kitchen has been my “restaurant bucket list” for over a year and we finally checked it out.

Tazza Kitchen is a casual eatery with locations in Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. The seasonal menu highlights ingredients sourced from dozens of farmers and food artisans, wood-fired cooking, and influences from Southern Italy and Baja California. The craft beverage program features unique small-production wines, innovative local brews, and cocktails made with premium spirits and the freshest ingredients

We started the date with a round of drinks.

A Screwdriver for the Mr. and a Sweet Disposition for the Mrs.

SCREWDRIVER / luksusowa vodka, fresh squeezed orange juice, bitters, mint, rocks

SWEET DISPOSITION / beefeater gin, lemon, sugar, sparkling, muddled blackberries, sage

My sparkling cocktail was absolute perfection and I cannot wait to recreate this sweet drink at home.  I’ve made gin + bubbles cocktails before but I’ve never added sage.

It didn’t take me long to decide what I wanted for lunch.  I usually order a salad but I could not resist the crabcake benedict.

CRABCAKE BENEDICT / crispy country ham, poached eggs*, arbol hollandaise, herb salad, charred lemon

crab cake egg ben

This dish was decadent and rich without being overly heavy.  The eggs were perfectly poached.  The country ham was tender and salty.  And the sauce!  Oh, that sauce.  Creamy and dreamy.  The herb salad added a POP of freshness and the charred lemon squeezed over the plate added just the right amount of zip.  Oh, and the crabcakes – crab > filler/breadcrumbs.  And that’s a good thing.

Big Guy ordered a sandwich:   MEATBALL / basil & mint pesto, sweet fennel tomato sauce, aged provolone, toasted baguette

I hope to return to Tazza Kitchen for dinner sometime soon.  I’ve already scoured the menu and a few things caught my eye:

CAST IRON GOAT CHEESE / marinara, parsley, brick oven bread

(because, duh – goat cheese)

SPICY SAUSAGE & BLACK PEPPER HONEY / aged provolone, fresh mozzarella

(I’m obsessed with pizza and black pepper honey is oh-so intriguing)

SCALLOPS / creamed corn risotto, oven roasted corn, chives, basil mint pesto

(I heart risotto – especially when corn is involved)

GREYHOUND / luksusowa vodka, grapefruit shrub, basil, expressed grapefruit, rocks

(herbs in cocktails are my jam)

A delicious lunch.  And even better date.

Leave a Reply

