Corn Cilantro Jalapeno Pizza

Pizza was a very wise decision last night.  After several weeks, maybe months, without pizza it was about time.

For the crust, I used my go-to recipe from Seriously Delish.  It’s a super simple, no-fail recipe that only requires about an hour and half of rising time.

The crust is puffy yet sturdy and seriously delicious.

The toppings really make this pizza special and so summery.

Despite the amount of tomatoes sitting on my kitchen counter currently, the pizza sauce is not tomato-based.  Instead it’s a mixture of cilantro, onion, garlic, red pepper flakes, olive oil, red wine vinegar and salt.  I could drink this sauce.

After the pizza dough is rolled out, cover the crust in the cilantro sauce and then top with charred corn (I used my cast iron skillet), sauteed chorizo, jalapeno slices, fresh mozzarella and shredded pepper jack cheese.

pizza

Quite possibly the best pizza of 2015 and definitely in the top five pizzas I’ve ever eaten.

The cilantro sauce is absolute perfection.  A little heat from the jalapeno and chorizo.  Lots of texture from the chewy crust and the tender corn.  Melty, ooey, gooey cheese.

From the garden, I was able to use our corn, jalapenos and onions.

And now I can check pizza off my list of “five things.”

One thought on “Corn Cilantro Jalapeno Pizza

  1. Pingback: Tazza Kitchen {restaurant review} | A Tasty Life

Leave a Reply

