Fresh Corn Sauté with Bacon and Chives

The past two weeks have been all about zucchini.  But not today.

Corn is in the house.  (Literally.)  And it’s the shining star in this easy summer side dish.

The key to simple recipes is to use high-quality ingredients (I know, I know – I’ve told you this before).

You only need 3 ingredients!  (Five if you want to count salt and pepper.)

Sweet corn.

Bacon.

Chives.

corn saute

I was so excited that we were able to use ingredients that we had put a lot of love into.  We Big Guy grew the corn from a kernel.  We turned a raw product (pork belly) into bacon.  And the chives were from my herb garden.

Unfortunately I haven’t sourced my own salt and pepper.

Yet.

Start by cooking your bacon in a skillet until crisp.  Once it reaches your desired texture (some like crispy bacon, some like chewy bacon), add in the corn kernels fresh off the cob and sauté about 4 minutes.  You want to corn to remain crisp while getting a little color.  Sprinkle in salt and pepper (I did not use salt because I knew my bacon was on the salty side) and finish off with a sprinkle of chives.

This side dish would be perfect with any summer meal.

But it was extra perfect next to pickle-brined (oven) fried chicken with spicy sesame honey. <— seriously delicious!!!!!

chicken

Leave a Reply

