{virtual} coffee chat

{image}

If we were having coffee this morning…I might complain about my ear hurting.  Not the inside – I completely clamped my earlobe with my flat iron while doing my hair this morning.  Happy Monday.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you all about last week.  Well, actually I would tell you that Monday through Thursday were rather stressful but on Friday we bit the bullet and purchased a brand new car.  Isn’t she pretty?  In the end, it was the smartest option (given the two that we had) and now we can all rest assured that I’m safe.

If we were having coffee this morning…I’d tell you about the restaurant we went to on Friday night for date night.  I had heard amazing things about ONE in Chapel Hill and after our experience it’s made it’s way to my list of top restaurants.  The food was amazing and I wish I could show you pictures – but I promised Big Guy I wouldn’t take any pictures of my food.  We ended up going for the 8-course tasting menu and they gave us each 8 different dishes.  Incredible.  My only complaint is regarding the sommelier.  He just wasn’t into the wine and left a lot to be desired.  But the service and the food more than made up for what he lacked.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that Big Guy and I had a fun Saturday at home and pulled out the corn hole boards.  Things got a little competitive but in the end I lost.  Thankfully I’m a great loser.

If we were having coffee this morning…I’d ask you about what you’re reading.  I’m well on my way through another one of the books on my Summer Reading List.  This one was recommended by a friend (hi! kristen) after she saw it on theSkimm.  So far I’m really enjoying the book.

If we were having coffee this morning…I’d encourage you to join theSkimm’s mailing list.  What’s theSkimm, you ask:

theSkimm is the daily e-mail newsletter that gives you everything you need to start your day. We do the reading for you – across subject lines and party lines – and break it down with fresh editorial content.

If we were having coffee this morning…I’d be super excited.  My sister is coming to visit this weekend and I have been looking forward to this weekend for months.  Last year she visited at about the same time to attend a wine dinner with me – well, she was pregnant when she visited and the wine dinner just wasn’t the same since she couldn’t enjoy all the wine.  This year she’s not pregnant (well, she better not be – haha) and we’re going to a Napa vs. Sonoma Wine Dinner.  Now if only Friday would get here a little faster…

{image}

If we were having coffee this morning…I’d tell you that we picked the corn yesterday and at the end of the day we ended up with about three dozen ears.  Last night, after a day at the pool, we spent some time boiling the corn for a few minutes then shocking them in ice water being cutting the corn off the cob and freezing.  I love having fresh corn in the freezer, but we seem to go through it way too fast.

If we were having coffee this morning…We’d part ways on this note:

{image}

Leave a Reply

