Grilled Watermelon and Minty Green Beans with Feta

Big Guy bought a HUGE watermelon for the 4th of July weekend and despite how delicious it is to eat hovered over the sink with juice dripping down our arms, I thought I would grill a few slices.

We’ve grilled watermelon before and if you’re hesitant, I understand.  Watermelon is supposed to be cool and crisp and refreshing.  While it does warm up when grilled, the inside stays cool and crisp and it’s incredibly refreshing.  Especially when paired with minty green beans.

Unfortunately my grocery store doesn’t carry halloumi cheese (or ricotta salata).  I blame that on our small town status.

But I improvised.  I had some feta in the fridge and decided to roll with it.  I wasn’t about to cry over spilled milk the wrong cheese.

This dinner takes no time at all.  Promise – 2o minutes or less.

I started by throwing the green beans in the microwave to steam – yep, I used the microwave.  p.s. It’s been forever since we had green beans.

While the beans were steaming, I whisked up the dressing – a simple mix of EVOO, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  A little bit of the dressing get removed to be tossed with the arugula.

As soon as the beans are cooked, toss them with the dressing.  Add in the mint and you’ll immediately smell the fragrant herb.

Now it’s time to grill your melon.  You really only need a couple of minutes a side – as soon as there are grill marks – flip!  I will agree that no one wants mushy watermelon.

You’re ready to eat.

A handful of greens.  A serving of minty green beans.  A slice of grilled watermelon.  A hefty sprinkle of feta.  And crunchy pistachios.

And yes, I’ve shown you two salads this week.

But I also made you homemade bacon.

You’re welcome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

