Pesto Potato Salad

Yesterday I let the zucchini have the spotlight.

But today, it’s all about the other half of Monday night’s dinner:  Pesto Potato Salad. 

Big Guy is a HUGE fan of potato salad.  And I’m a huge fan of pesto.  So I knew these potatoes would be a hit.

I made the potato salad in advance and served it cold over a bed of greens.

To make the potatoes, cover sliced potatoes in a pot with cool water.  Add a splash of vinegar.

Apparently vinegar helps the potatoes hold their shape.

Bring the potatoes to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for 10 minutes or until the potatoes are fork tender.

While the potatoes are doing their thing (and trust me, you want to do something because a watched pot truly won’t come to a boil), make your pesto!

In your food processor, whirl together fresh basil, parsley, Parmesan cheese, Greek yogurt, a little mayo, pecans (I didn’t have any sunflower seeds, so I used a few pecans), a tablespoon of water, a splash of red wine vinegar (I forgot to grab a lemon at the grocery store), salt and a couple of cloves of garlic.

Once the potatoes are tender, drain and toss them with the pesto.

You could serve them immediately, or you can let them hang out in the fridge.

Served over a bed of greens that was tossed with a little EVOO, red wine vinegar, salt and pepper.

And on top, a sprinkling of fresh dill.

pesto potato salad

But I’m not going to lie, between this half of the plate and yesterday’s half, I can’t pick a favorite.

Leave a Reply

