Tomato Frittata

Frittatas are not only quick and easy but you can customize them with whatever ingredients you have on hand.  In my opinion, as long as you have eggs and some kind of cheese – you can make a frittata.

The latest issue of Cooking Light featured a Tomato-Asiago Frittata that I customized earlier this week for a delicious dinner.

In order to make the frittata my own, I used cilantro instead of thyme and Parmesan cheese instead of asiago cheese.

I think this frittata would be delicious with dill or basil or perhaps even rosemary.  I prefer the saltiness of Parmesan but I think goat cheese would be insanely creamy and dreamy.  Feta would also work wonderfully.  Let’s be honest – any cheese would be delish.

The key is making sure to properly salt and pepper the eggs.

On the side, I made a simple salad.

In a bowl, I toss blackberries with a couple of tablespoons of balsamic vinegar.  While the blackberries were “marinating”, I warmed some olive oil (about a tablespoon) in a skillet and then sauteed chopped pecans until I could smell them.  Please don’t skip this step – not only does it bring the nuts to life but it infused the oil.  To the bowl with the blackberries, I added large handfuls of greens and poured the infused olive oil and the pecans on top.  I added a nice pinch of salt and several grinds of pepper.  Toss and serve.

How would you make this frittata your own?  

 

One thought on “Tomato Frittata

Leave a Reply

