Lemon-Herb Chicken Skewers with Blueberry-Balsamic Salsa

Typically I meal plan on Sundays.  I lay out what the evenings look like for the week and go from there.

But this past weekend didn’t quite go that way.  I had a late afternoon arrival into Raleigh after being in Nashville, TN all weekend and then I met up with Big Guy for an errand at the mall followed by a sushi date.  Arriving home at 8pm on a Sunday night after being gone all weekend is late for this gal.  That’s typically when I’m getting ready for bed on Sunday nights (sorry, I’m not sorry).

Seeing as though I left the bags unpacked and on the floor (the horror!) I can assure you that no meal planning happened on Sunday night.

However, waiting to meal plan on Monday before I left for work ended up having it’s advantage.

I arrived at the gym on Monday morning way before the sun came up (I was also cursing myself for being so dedicated to my 5am classes) and one of my friends arrived with a pint of fresh, local blueberries just for me.

As soon as I saw the blueberries I knew they were making their way into my dinner plans for the week.

Those sweet, succulent blueberries were destined for Lemon-Herb Chicken Skewers with Blueberry-Balsamic Salsa – a recipe that caught my eye the moment I flipped through my latest issue of  Cooking Light.

The recipe is fairly simple but it does require about an hour of hands-off work – that is time for the chicken to marinate.

The chicken (I ended up using organic chicken breasts because our grocery stores never have a decent selection of chicken thighs – note to self:  stock up at Trader Joe’s) is marinated in a mixture of garlic, parsley, basil, cilantro, olive oil, lemon zest and juice, and fresh cracked black pepper.

While the chicken marinates, make the salsa.  Half of the blueberries, balsamic vinegar and honey is brought to a boil and then simmered until thick and syrupy.  Be sure to use a spoon to mash the blueberries as it cooks.

The other half of the blueberries are given a quick whirl in the food processor before being added to a bowl with the cooked blueberries along with the other salsa ingredients.  I totally forgot to buy a red onion at the store so I used green onion that I had from the night before.

The chicken is then grilled to perfection and served with the sweet and sour blueberry salsa.

Word to the wise:  double the blueberry salsa.  It would be fantastic as an appetizer with goat cheese and crackers.

Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

