Roasted Garlic and Bacon Spinach Dip {plus two more small bites}

Good morning!  It’s a two day work week for me so I’m a happy girl.  I have lots to accomplish in the next 48 hours but I have faith in myself.  Tomorrow I’ll give you a full recap of my lovely long weekend but today I want to share with you three, yes, three appetizers that are sure to make any “appy” hour a “happy” hour.  My Momma and I had a girls night on Friday night before the guys arrived and we decided to snack on several things instead of deciding on one dinner option.  I was quite impressed with our spread.

**To note – after I took the picture and posted it on Instagram, I realized that there’s a major blooper in the picture.  Do you see it?  See the fish dish with the edamame – my soy sauce bowl is stuck in his tail.  I got a good laugh.**

Speaking of the edamame, we simply steamed the pods and then tossed them with course salt and orange zest.  I loved the brightness of the orange zest especially with the salty soy sauce.  So simple but a little special from the addition of the zest.

To the left of the edamame, are crackers topped with honey goat cheese and a blackberry.  This might have been my favorite bite of the night.  Tangy but smooth goat cheese, crunchy cracker and a sweet yet tart berry on top.  Simple is sometimes the best.

And for our hot appetizer of the night, Roasted Garlic and Bacon Spinach Dip.  Honestly, how can you go wrong with roasted garlic, bacon and cheese?

You can’t.

The roasted garlic is the most time consuming part of the recipe but it’s a hands-off kind of task.  Simply cut off the top of the garlic, drizzle with EVOO and a sprinkle of salt then wrap in aluminum foil and bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.  Roasted garlic is one of my favorite things ever.

While the garlic is roasted, crisp up the bacon and then wilt the spinach in the bacon fat.  Just do it.  Don’t question yourself.

The base of the dip is cream cheese, a little Greek yogurt and a little mayo which is then mixed with mashed roasted garlic (the whole darn head), chopped bacon and the spinach along with shredded Parmesan cheese.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

The top of the dip is finished with one of the bacon slices, crumbled, and a little more cheese – because you can’t have enough cheese.

Baked until bubbly and hot.  We served the dip with crackers and some baby bell pepper.

And to complete the spread, a glass of Vouvray – which is a French white wine.  Tart and sweet and incredibly light.

Appy hour is my favorite hour.

Leave a Reply

