Thai Basil Chicken Stir-Fry

This week has been another crazy week with various after work happenings.  But I try not to let “busy” be an excuse to not cook and eat a delicious, healthy dinner.

The key for me is prepping.  Oh, and menu planning for the week.

On this particular night, I prepped all the ingredients between the time I got home from work and another meeting I had that evening.  Cutting and chopping and measuring is typically one of the biggest time consuming parts of cooking.

Big Guy was in charge of the rice and got working on that while I was at my meeting.  As soon as I walked through the door, everything was ready to be stir-fried – which is one of the fastest cooking methods possible.

stir fry

 

The flavor comes from the serrano chile (I find serrano chiles to be very similar to jalapenos), basil, garlic and the sauce.  The sauce is a combo of tamari (instead of hoisin), sugar, water and fish sauce.  And the rice also has some added flavor from the addition of soy sauce and minced ginger.

The peppers stay crisp and give the entire stir-fry freshness that is so welcoming with the punch of heat from the chiles.  Basil provides herbaceous hints with every bite that I’m absolutely obsessed with.

Busy nights happen.  And these day they seem to come around more often.  But a nice warm, home-cooked dinner is a nice way to escape the business of life.

Even if it is for just 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

