Pan-Seared Shrimp and Arugula Risotto

Risotto makes me feel a little fancy.  Risotto makes me want to uncork (or unscrew) a bottle of wine and pour a glass so that I have something to do while I stir.  And stir.  And stir.

On this particular evening, I selected a light and crisp 2013 Pinot Blanc from Elizabeth Spencer.  While we did visit Elizabeth Spencer during our visit to Sonoma this is not a bottle from the trip.  I actually saw this bottle at a wine shop here in Eastern NC and had to buy it after the lady in the wine shop highly recommended the bottle.  And I don’t regret the purchase.  Easy on the wallet but absolutely delicious.  After all the red wine we’ve been drinking, I had forgotten how much I love a light white wine – especially as the weather is becoming warmer and warmer.

And this white wine went perfectly with the risotto.  The Pan-Seared Shrimp and Arugula Risotto was full of flavors and insanely creamy.  I decided to pan-sear the shrimp in the Dutch oven that I planned to cook the risotto in – genius.  It only gave the risotto an even more intense flavor.  I used red onion instead of shallots (simply because my onion had gone bad).  The key to risotto is patience and warmed stock.

It’s so sad how un-photogenic risotto can be.

risotto

Buttery with a little earthiness from the arugula and basil, this dinner is totally worth opening a bottle of wine.

Leave a Reply

