Strawberry Goat Cheese Crostini

Strawberry season has arrived in Eastern North Carolina.  And that makes me so happy.

I haven’t been able to pick-my-own yet (perhaps this weekend?!?!) but a good friend at the gym brought my some strawberries from his sisters farm last Friday and I couldn’t wait to eat them.

Super sweet and absolutely delicious on their own but when I was trying to think of an appetizer I couldn’t help but want to use the succulent strawberries.

strawbs

Strawberry Goat Cheese Crostini is incredibly easy but so delicious.  Sweet strawberries are tossed with balsamic vinegar and allowed to marinate for about 10 minutes.  While the strawberries are soaking up acidic flavors, toast your crostini.  I sliced a ciabatta baguette, drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper before baking at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.  Once they were nice and crunchy, a slathered on the tangy goat cheese and topped with a couple of the balsamic strawberry slices.   The final touch with a sprinkling of spicy globe basil from the garden (by the way, it’s National Herb Week!) and flaky sea salt.

The sea salt takes it over the top.

Sweet, tangy, salty and crunchy.

Appetizer heaven.

strawbs2

I dare you to just eat one.

Leave a Reply

