{virtual} Coffee Chat

{image via}

If we were having coffee this morning…I would want to transport us to Miami where the sun is shining and the air is warm.  We would order iced coffees because it’s so hot.  And The Ritz-Carlton did their iced coffees up right:  iced coffee plus coffee ice cubes means no watered down coffee.  It was even more delicious because I splurged and added cream.  Oh, and the fact that I had a 75 minute massage before the iced coffee made it even better.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would confess that there hasn’t been a lot of cooking going on this week.  I got home on Monday night and the rest of my week nights were full of social commitments.  And the fact that Big Guy hasn’t been home since last Wednesday doesn’t make me want to cook any more.  But don’t worry – I’ll be back in action next week.

If we were having coffee this morning…I might try to recreate my favorite breakfast in Miami.  On Saturday morning we were up bright and early (literally before the rest of Miami) and went on a walk.  My request:  fresh-pressed juice.  The fruit is unreal in Miami and I had been dreaming about green juice for weeks.  We stumbled across Sunset Juice Bar and were the first customers of the day (it was still before 8am).  I ordered a cold-pressed spinach, kale, collards, cucumber, apple and lime juice along with a yogurt bowl that was studded with the most gorgeous berries and crunchy nuts.  What I would do to be able to walk to breakfast every Saturday morning.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would recommend that you read The Husband’s Secret.  It was the perfect beach read – with a mojito on the side.

At the heart of The Husband’s Secret is a letter that is not meant to be read…

My darling Cecilia,
If you’re reading this, then I’ve died…

Imagine your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not only the life you have built together, but the lives of others as well. And then imagine that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive…

book

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you how much I adore Big Guy.  Don’t get me wrong – our life isn’t all mojitos and trips to Miami – there’s real life in the middle of all that but I couldn’t imagine going through this wild ride with anyone else.  And as demanding as his work life can be, we were both able to relax and enjoy this past weekend.  Oh, and he was that guy that went to Miami, realized that he forgot a hat and then proceeded to buy a camo hat.  I had nothing to do with that purchase – I was getting a massage. Camo, the preppiest bathing suit at the pool and a frozen drink – that’s my guy.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you about one of the “hottest places to drink” this summer.  And “hottest” is used both figuratively and literally here.  Bar Centro at The Bazaar  at the SLS boutique hotel was not only the place to be but it was quite warm.  Don’t worry – I cooled off quickly with a gin and tonic.  We also didn’t have dinner reservations until later that evening so we also grabbed a few nibbles while we were there.  Most notable:  Foie Gras PB&J – foie gras torchon, peanut butter, raspberry jam.  The fanciest peanut butter and jelly I’ve ever had.  But oh.em.gee.  It was unreal.  Melt-in-your-mouth with the most true PB&J flavors.  I’m drooling just thinking about these little sandwiches.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that our weekend in Miami may be over but it won’t be soon forgotten.  #cottoninmiami was the perfect way to celebrate 2 years of marriage along with many, many years we have ahead of us.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

