Pubbelly Sushi {restaurant review}

It’s Wednesday but I’m still on a high from a wonderful weekend full of sun, laughter and relaxation.  Oh, and a few mojitos.

It was honestly exactly what Big Guy and I needed.  A weekend away from reality that recharged our batteries.  In true Emily fashion I did as much research as possible (around food and drink) when it was set in stone that I would be meeting Big Guy in Miami to celebrate our anniversary.  Sometimes his work schedule isn’t so bad.  wink wink.

I have a “secret” list of restaurants that I want to visit all over the world.  But I did not have one restaurant in Miami on the list.  Don’t worry, I dug a little bit and we had a great weekend of eating and drinking.

Pubbelly Sushi was a definite eating spot for the weekend the moment I stumbled across their menu.

Pubbelly Sushi is the second restaurant by the Pubbelly Restaurant Group and takes inspiration from the original gastropub in its style and ambiance. We refer to the restaurant as a sushi tavern and the cuisine reflects both rustic and creative sushi preparations and classics interpretations.

I seriously wanted to order everything on the menu.  And while we didn’t order everything – we tried so many small plates – our favorite way to eat.

To start:

shishito

SHISHITO PEPPERS
miso & pistachio

I’ve been kind of obsessed with the idea of roasted shishito peppers since I found out they were a hybrid of a bell pepper and jalapeno.  One in ten of these bad boys is spicy.  We lucked out and didn’t burn our mouth on any of the peppers but we literally wanted to lick this little cast iron clean.  The sauce was out of this world.

carpaccio

WAGYU BEEF CARPACCIO
asian pear, garlic, cherry tomato, yuzu soy, hot sesame oil

Absolutely delicious.  But incredibly hard to eat with chopsticks.  Just being honest.  I wanted a little more heat from this dish but I loved all the textures.

Round Two:

salad

SOFTSHELL CRAB BLT
bibb lettuce, tomato, bacon, blue crab tartar sauce

I have to be honest – not our favorite roll.  It reminded me a lot of chicken salad.

pork belly

PORK BELLY & CLAMS
bbq pork belly, kimchee coleslaw, fried clams

Such a unique roll.  I adored the pork belly flavor and texture – it was perfectly cooked.

Round Three:

salmon

BIGEYE TUNA
spicy tuna, “arroz pegao,” truffle oil, sea salt

Hands-down, my favorite roll of the night.  A little “patty” of rice is fried for the base and then topped with the spicy tuna.  So, so good.  I can’t even describe the flavor.  But the tuna was so fresh and melted in your mouth.

lobstah roll

MAINE LOBSTER
yuzu & celery

On the menu there was a section for “New England Style Rolls” which meant they were served on a bun instead of rice.  I was obviously intrigued and this was the roll we decided to try.  The roll was soft and doughy while the lobster mixture was sweet and succulent and the fried “straws” on top gave it an incredible texture.  This was perfect for Big Guy and I to share (one bite each) but would be awkward for a group of folks to share.

salmon 2

NAVARRO SALMON
crab, serrano peppers, mozzarella, crispy onions, spicy mayo, eel sauce

I simply had to try this since I probably won’t be back to Pubbelly Sushi in the near future.  Such a twist on traditional sushi.

Pubbelly Sushi was an incredible eating experience.  We were able to take our time and order several rounds of food.  Like I said, Big Guy and I love to eat this way – small plate, after small plate.  It’s the perfect way to eat your way through a menu without feeling completely miserable.

A must-try for any food lover.

And I must say, I’ve never seen nor eaten at an Asian-fusion gastropub.  Until Pubbelly Sushi.

Leave a Reply

