Sausage and Kale Pesto Pizza

On Saturday I made my first trip of the season to our local farmers market.  I absolutely love visiting the market.  And while I didn’t go with intentions of getting anything specific – though I was hoping to get my hands on some strawberries – I was excited about what I brought home.

English Cucumbers

Garlic Chives (!!!)

Kale

Butter Crunch Lettuce

Yesterday as I was menu planning for the week to come, the kale was on my mind.  I wanted to make sure to put it to good use.

I came across a pizza recipe that had a base of kale pesto and I knew immediately what we were having for dinner last night.

Sausage and Kale Pesto Pizza it was.

The sausage is cooking in a cast iron skillet until browned and then removed from the pan and set to the side.  In the same pan, wilt the kale.  I did not add the water (the kale was a little damp from rinsing) or the sugar.

Once the kale wilts, it’s time to make the pesto.

Wilted Kale
Toasted Almonds
Garlic
Olive Oil
Parmesan Cheese

The crust was our go-to recipe from the Seriously Delish cookbook.  It’s honestly the best, no-fuss crust ever.

While I was preparing the pesto, Big Guy was rolling out the dough.

The pesto gets spread all over the crust and then topped with the sausage (I used spicy sausage instead of Italian sausage) and cheese.

Baked until all the cheese is melted and the crust is browned.

A bottle of red wine from Sonoma ended the weekend on a high note.

This 2012 Portalupi Zinfandel from the Russian River Valley was perfect with the pizza.  Big yet not overpowering with notes of red fruit and black pepper.

Pizza and wine.  Has there ever been a more perfect raining Sunday evening pairing?

Leave a Reply

