Orange-Glazed Salmon with Olive Quinoa

If I had it my way, I would have a home-cooked dinner on the table every night of the week.  And while I make this happen most nights, there are some nights where Big Guy and I have different schedules.   Between Big Guy having work commitments and my every-growing social commitments, it’s just not feasible to always eat together.  And I confess (I’ve confessed this before) that on the nights that Big Guy is away during the dinner hour, I rely on cleaning out the fridge (aka the cheese drawer) for my dinner.

But this week I was craving a nice home-cooked meal and Big Guy having other plans didn’t keep me from making an incredible dinner.  (Another confession:  our fridge was as bare as I’ve ever seen it at the beginning of the week and I’m not sure I could have created much from “cleaning out the fridge.”)

And since I didn’t have to worry about anyone’s taste buds but my own, I went with salmon.  I’m a lover of all food from the sea but salmon is one of my favorites.  I went through all of my salmon recipes before deciding on Orange-Glazed Salmon with Olive Quinoa.  This recipe ultimately was my pick because it was for two servings – which was perfect.

I cooked 1/2 cup quinoa in 2/3 cup of water until all the water was absorbed.  While the quinoa was cooking, I mixed together the glaze for the salmon.  In the mix:  maple syrup, orange zest, orange juice, Dijon mustard, garlic (and lots of it!) and some freshly cracked black pepper.  I topped the salmon fillets with the glaze and placed in the oven on BROIL for 6 minutes.  No more, no less for a perfectly medium piece of salmon.

While the salmon was cooking, I fluffed the quinoa with parsley, chopped olives, salt and pepper.

Such a delicious dinner.

Another confession:

This dinner was eaten on the couch with a side of Keeping Up With the Kardashians.

Oh, yes.  My guilty pleasure.

 

 

Leave a Reply

