Almond Butter Chicken Satay with Cilantro-Lime Rice

Let’s start with a few random Thursday tidbits, mmm kay?

Skewers are one of the few items that I misplace around the house.  Don’t ask how that happens.

– Satay means “a dish of seasoned, skewered, and grilled meat, served with a sauce.”

– Leftover coconut milk tastes amazing in overnight oats and smoothies.

– Speaking of coconuts, coconut butter + almond butter on a toasted waffle is unbelievably delicious.

I’m currently obsessed with the coconut flavored La Croix.  Big Guy thinks it tastes like sunscreen.

– On the subject of sunscreen, I just bought a new bathing suit.  I’m less scared about how I look in a bathing suit and more scared at how skimpy bathing suits have become.

– And I’ve created a new rule that I think all women should follow:  If you wouldn’t wear something in front of your brother/Daddy/grandfather, you probably shouldn’t wear it in public at all.

Interesting how my thought process started with skewers and ended with a fashion rule.

Moving right along…

Can we talk about the deliciousness of almond butter chicken satay?  This dinner needs a little bit of prep work but the prep work can be done in advance.

Sliced chicken breast is marinated in a mixture of coconut milk, lime juice, brown sugar, fish sauce, ginger, curry powder and crushed garlic for at least 2 hours.

After it’s marinated and soaks up all the incredible flavors, the chicken is skewered before being grilled.

While Big Guy manned the chicken, I put a few finishing touches on the rice.  Brown basmati rice is fluffed and then cilantro and lime juice (about half a lime) is added into the rice for even more fresh flavor.  I adore cilantro – if you’re not a fan, leave it out or try parsley.

The chicken is served with an almond butter based dipping sauce.  I adore almond butter (I’m almost out and I am planning my Sunday around stocking up on my beloved breakfast staple) and it’s the perfect complement to curry-dusted chicken.  In the sauce, along with almond butter, more of the coconut milk, water, hoisin sauce (I used tamari) and Sriracha.  Ugh.  So good.

And for even more freshness, fresh cucumber on the side for a pop of color and flavor.

I served the chicken with a squeeze of lime before liberally dipping each and every piece into the luscious almond butter sauce.

Okay, seriously.  I need more almond butter.

Leave a Reply

