Mint and Cumin-Spiced Lamb Chops + Pistachio Crusted Asparagus with Feta

Good morning and Happy Monday!  I hope you all had a wonderful Easter weekend.  My weekend flew by at the speed of lightening.  On Friday, Big Guy and I headed down to Ocean Isle Beach and made a pit stop in Wilmington for sushi.  The weekend was full of family and it was exactly what I wanted.  The weather was gorgeous and I even got to share a bottle of wine with my sister.

Iron Horse is my favorite bubbles these days and this bottle came all the way from Sonoma.  This 2007 Brut Rose was light and bright with hints of fruit with every sip.

On Saturday we enjoyed coffee and yogurt bowls at Drift before I got to work in the kitchen with Momma.  Deviled eggs…pea salad…biscuits…and a delicious pineapple-coconut cake.  We were busy ladies.

That evening we headed to my grandparents house for dinner.  I wish I could transport myself back so that I could spend another weekend with these fun kids.

Yesterday we packed up the car and headed back so that we could enjoy the sunshine on our back deck. A glass of wine and some tunes and I was a happy girl.

For dinner, we kept with the Easter “theme” and had Mint and Cumin-Spiced Lamb Chops with a side of Pistachio Crusted Asparagus and Feta.

lamb

The lamb chops were rubbed with a mixture of mint, cilantro, parsley, onion, cumin, paprika, allspice, crushed red pepper flakes and garam masala that had been pulsed in the food processor.  Grilled until cooked to desired doneness and then sprinkled with parsley.

The asparagus were seriously the best asparagus I’ve ever add.  Salty and nutty with a little bit of brightness from the orange-vinaigrette.  I loved the freshness of the parsley on top but I have to say pistachios + feta are the perfect combination as an asparagus topper.  You must try this recipe if you love asparagus.

dinner

To end the weekend on a high note, we uncorked a pinot noir from Papapietro Perry and toasted to another wonderful weekend.

And if you’re on Spring Break – I’m jealous.

 

Leave a Reply

