Friday Favorites

I am beyond “over” this week.  I don’t know what it is, but I’ve been in a funk for the past week and it’s quite ridiculous.  I partly blame the weather.  But it’s Friday and the end of the work week is in sight.  Despite the not-so-lovely weather, I’m determined to have an amazing weekend.  It’s going to be full of relaxing, wine and food.  Oh, and I plan on throwing in a kick-my-rear workout on Saturday morning.  #balance

So if you’re “over” this week, too, – I feel your pain.  And if you’ve been “happy as a clam” all week – send some of those joyful vibes my way.

Either way – here are my favorites of the week.

Favorite From Scratch:  Hummingbird Cake.  Appropriate for all Southern gatherings – but I think Easter would be the perfect time for me to break out the mixing bowls and spoons and make this gorgeous cake.

Favorite DIY:  Kool Aid Dyed Easter Eggs.  My love for dying Easter eggs will never go away.  And how cook and creative are these vibrant eggs?  (Don’t worry, Maggie, Haines and I will still be decorating eggs with ALL things Frozen!)

Favorite “Appy” Hour:  Blistered Shishitos with Buttermilk Dip.  Truth:  I’ve never tried shishitos.  And that trend needs to end.  And if you’re not familiar with shishitos, they are a hybrid between a jalapeno and bell pepper and not incredibly spicy.  I think they’d be addictive.

Favorite Flakes:  Proscuitto and Gruyere Croissants.  This week I added “homemade croissants” to my cooking bucket list.

Favorite Daydream:  On a beach.  With a book.  And not a worry in the world.

{image}

Favorite Fresh:  Green Goddess Hummus.  I fell off the hummus bandwagon a while back and I think it’s time I jump back on.

Favorite Flavors: Avocado and Heirloom Tomato Salad.  At the end of last summer I was so over tomatoes.  But now that we’ve survived the winter from you-know-where I’m ready for them again.  And there is nothing as delicious and beautiful as this simple salad.

Favorite Brunch:  Frico Eggs.  I am currently working to perfect the fried egg.  So let’s keep practicing but add in some crispy cheese to the pan.  And a little green avocado on the side for good measure.

Favorite Fashion:  white bottoms + bright tops = my warm weather outfit for just about any occassion

Lilly

Favorite Slice:  Spring Onion Pizza.  A pizza with a few of my favorite things:  leeks, garlic, green onions, cheese and herbs.

Favorite Sip to Share:  Pineapple Sangria. Next weekend the family will be gathering for Easter weekend and it’s an unwritten expectation that I’ll have a cocktail recipe up my sleeve for the crowd.  Nothing seems more appropriate than this cocktail.

Cheers!

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

