creamy asparagus and hearts of palm pasta

My food is screaming “It’s Spring” but the weather just can’t seem to make up it’s mind.  Today it’s going to be in the high 60s while the high for Saturday is 49.

And while I can’t seem to figure out what I am supposed to wear during this time of transition, I’m clearly comfortable with pretending it’s full-on-Springtime in the kitchen.

This pasta dish is ready in under 30 minutes and it creamy and rich while still being light.

I loved the texture and flavors from the asparagus and hearts of palm.  And if you have any favorite artichoke or hearts of palm recipes – send them my way – we’re currently obsessing.

The richness is from a milk-based sauce with cheesiness from Parmesan and mozzarella.  The mozzarella is stirred in at the very end and provides a decadent, almost-guilty feeling creaminess.

The only changes I made:  gluten-free pasta and instead of flour I used 1 tablespoon of cornstarch.  Oh, and I added more garlic. Because I just can’t have enough.

Perhaps if I eat more Spring-inspired meals the cold weather will leave for good.

Leave a Reply

