Skillet Chicken and Mozzarella Bake

If you’re a fan of Italian food you will adore this chicken dinner.

If you’re a fan of “Parmesan Chicken” you will adore this chicken dinner.

If you’re a fan of chicken you will adore this chicken dinner.

If you’re a fan of easy, quick recipes you will adore this chicken dinner.

If you’re hungry you will adore this chicken dinner.

And while Italian food isn’t my go-to when I’m meal planning for the week, Skillet Chicken and Mozzarella Bake was better than I ever expected.  So good, I really wanted to uncork a bottle of wine.  (Why didn’t I?!?!)

Chicken is seasoned with salt and pepper before being seared in a skillet (I used my cast-iron for ease of sliding it into the oven).  Once browned on both sides, remove the chicken and begin working on the “sauce.”  Onion and garlic is sauteed before adding salt, pepper, fresh chopped tomato (so ready for tomato to be in season!), marinara sauce, stock and oregano (I used dried for the sauce).  Bring to a simmer and then nestle the chicken into the sauce.

The chicken is then topped with a mixture of panko (I used gluten-free), parmesan and a little butter.  This “parmesan” coating gives SO much texture to the chicken.  On top of the panko mixture goes the mozzarella.  Stringy, cheesy, delicious mozzarella.

The entire skillet is placed in the oven for about 10 minutes.  I broiled our skillet for about 3 minutes to get that gorgeous brown on the mozzarella.

Sprinkle with fresh oregano before serving.

On the side, a simple arugula salad with celery and parsley.

A little bit of crunch.

A lot of flavor.

Tender chicken

Garlic notes.

Rich sauce.

Perfection.

I promise you’ll adore this chicken dinner.

Leave a Reply

