White Cheddar Potato Soup

Let’s rewind to the week after I graduated from high school (2001) when my best friend and I went down to Ocean Isle Beach for the week.

We were well behaved ladies – didn’t drink or have boyfriends – and the only thing we had planned was sun and trips to the outlets in Myrtle Beach.

That week is so vivid in my mind.  We were two peas in a pod.  The clothes we packed were pretty much identical – and we dressed identical sometimes to get a laugh out of folks.

And you want to know what brings up this memory for me – potato soup.

I know – random.

One night during our first week out of high school, we headed to North Myrtle for dinner.  This was way before I knew about farm-to-table so we picked one of our favorite restaurants, Tripps.  

We loved Tripps because of their potato soup.  Loaded baked potato soup, to be exact.  We would order a salad and a huge bowl each of the soup.

It was loaded with chunks of potato, cheddar cheese, bacon and green onions – oh, and butter.  And cream.

We didn’t care that it was 90 degrees outside – we loved that soup.

Gone are the days of me going to Tripps for soup but I do love potato soup.  And since Big Guy and I aren’t fans of soup in warm weather, we managed to fit one more pot of soup in before Spring has 100% arrived.

White Cheddar Potato Soup is luscious, rich and creamy.  The soup is made in one pot (which is fantastic for clean-up) and has chunks of mashed potato in every bite.  The white cheddar is sharp and the Greek yogurt (or sour cream) gives the perfect amount of tang.  Dressed with green onions, it’s a throw-back bowl of soup for me.

p.s.  Tripps still has Baked Potato Soup on the menu for $4.69.

 

 

Leave a Reply

