{Virtual} Coffee Chat

If we were having coffee this morning…I would be absolutely giddy that Spring is in the air.  In fact, I celebrated the sun on Sunday with a glass of champs.  Just because I can.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you all about the house updates.  Last weekend we hung my new favorite prints in the guest bedroom.

If we were having coffee this morning…I might seem a little stressed about the “state” of our home.  We currently have ALL the furniture in the living room in the kitchen or office. (The below peak is just the beginning….)  The living room and office were painted yesterday, floors are being put in today and we’re crossing our fingers that the wallpaper goes up on Thursday.

currently

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that ALL our glassware is clean and dust-free.  I had to empty out our bar which gave me the perfect opportunity for a little Spring cleaning.  The fact that our kitchen table is against the wall and full of the glasses…that’s another story.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would recommend the 2010 Belle Cousine from Hyde de Villaine (HdV).   Thankfully we were smart enough to buy two bottles and we have one “aging” as we speak.  We’ll see if it lasts two decades on the wine rack.

HdV is a venture between the Hyde Family of Napa Valley and the de Villaine Family of Burgundy. The families, related by marriage, share long histories in French and Californian winemaking. In HdV, we have brought together our knowledge and experience for the purpose of creating single vineyard wines from the slopes of Hyde Vineyards.

2010 Belle Cousine:  Dark red in color, the wine shows a very refined nose of fresh blueberry, lavender and cassis with a hint of cedar notes. The intense blue shaded fruit lifts from the glass with a clear but subtle minerality. While dense and concentrated, the fine tannins display elegance in harmony with the fresh acidity. Classic Hyde Vineyard Bordeaux varieties on display with intense fruit followed by a long, lingering mineral finish. Enjoy now and over the next two decades.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you how excited I am that my parents are visiting this weekend and we’re taking them to our favorite little spot, SoCo.  I’ve made sure that the menu is shellfish-free (or at least one half) and carrot-free.  And they just happened to put a suggestion of mine on the menu.  Dadom, I hope you’re ready for some GNOCCHI.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would admit that we were at SoCo less than a week ago because we “had” to try the menu before it went away forever.

Sweet Kale with Peppercorn Ranch, Heirloom Beans, Roasted Carrot Puree and Free Range Pork Cracklins

Hot & Sour-Style Soup with Farmhouse Egg and Pork Belly

Curried Tilefish with Skillet Potatoes, Cabbage-Herb Salad and Miso Butter

Cheese Plate with Almond Shortbread, Dried Apricots and Truffle Honey

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you my thoughts on the menu:  Their dressings are one of my favorite aspects of every meal.  So fresh.  I’m kind of over kale.  Not because it wasn’t prepared perfectly (because it was!  thankfully they are not afraid of salt) but because I’m over winter and kale = winter.  The soup was different than what I expected!  The egg was hardboiled and chopped as a garnish – I was totally expecting a runny egg yolk.  The flavors of the soup were just as you expected:  hot and sour – but Kimberly had the BEST wine pairing with this course.  The tilefish was unbelievable cooked to perfection.  And the cheese plate.  Oh, cheese, How I love thee.  The goat cheese and shortbread were absolutely amazing.  And the truffle honey, shut up.

If we were having coffee this morning…We would talk a little bit more about cheese.  Big Guy and I tried a mushroom brie for “appy” hour one night and it was so good.  The cheese is from Trader Joe’s and if you love mushrooms like we do, you’ll adore this cheese.

cheese

If we were having coffee this morning…I would remind you that life is all about balance.  All the food and wine (20%) that you see on the blog and my instagram are balanced with healthy meals (80%) and my daily workouts.

{image source}

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that balance also means the return of the Green Smoothie.

green

Can’t wait to chat with you next week!

 

Leave a Reply

