Stacked Chicken Enchiladas

As much as I love cooking new recipes, I hate throwing away food.  Big Guy typically eats leftovers for lunch or on the nights that are busy and we have to fend for ourselves.  But sometimes it’s not about leftovers.  Sometimes a recipe calls for 6 of something but they only come in packages of 18.  I’m not about to throw away 12 of something.

So I try to work my menus around what I have in the fridge that needs to be used.  Enter corn tortillas.

A couple of weeks ago I bought the tortillas for the beef chorizo tacos.  And then I used them again in our crispy avocado tacos.

And I still had leftovers.

So I used My Recipes to search for a recipe utilizing corn tortillas and chicken thighs (I also had those on hand).  One of the first recipes to pop up was Stacked Chicken Enchiladas, a recipe I had actually taken out of my binder at home and put in the “make” pile.  It was meant to be.

This isn’t a 30-minute recipe but it’s totally worth the time.

Instead of using two separate pans to cook the chicken, I used my dutch oven so that I could easily transfer the chicken from the stove-top to the oven.  I also didn’t have any cilantro on hand because what I thought was cilantro was parsley in the fridge.  But I used parsley and the end result was still incredibly delicious.  And I also didn’t want to waste money buying Mexican crema so I simply mixed a little Greek yogurt with lime juice.

Enchiladas can sometimes be a pain – messy and frustrating – because of dipping the tortillas and rolling.  This recipe isn’t as painful.  The enchiladas are made by layering what’s typically inside the enchilada and the corn tortillas.

I’m not going to lie – my favorite part of this recipe was the crispy tortilla edges on top with the melted cheese.

I’m such a carb and cheese gal.

But this recipe has all the flavor of your beloved enchiladas without the guilt.

 

 

Leave a Reply

