Crispy Avocado Tacos

Daylight Savings Time begins this weekend.  And I’m so incredibly excited.  I could care less that I’m losing an hour of sleep.  Bring on the extra sunlight in the evenings (even if there are nights I’m in bed before it’s dark – true story).

Extra sunlight in the evenings = Prettier pictures of our dinners

And that makes me happy.

My pictures of our crispy avocado tacos aren’t that great.  In fact, I’m not a fan at all.  But I am a fan of how delicious the tacos were so I simply had to share.  Bad photos and all.

avocado

I know baking avocado seems a little weird but weird can be fun.  And delicious.

Avocado slices are dipped in a mixture of milk (I used almond milk) and olive oil before being dredged through a panko mixture with salt, pepper, cumin and garlic powder.  I went a little heavy handed on all the spices to make sure there was plenty of flavor.

The avocado is then baked in a 450 degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes or until crispy and browned.

While the avocado is baking, pickle your radishes and warm up the corn tortillas.

The sliced radishes are simply soaked in a mixture of red wine vinegar, a tablespoon of sugar and a pinch of salt.

Once the avocados are browned, assemble your tacos!

avo taco

Soft, delicate corn tortillas.

Zippy radishes.

Creamy yet crispy avocado.

A little heat from the Sriracha.

And bright lime juice.

Such a simple dinner.  And vegetarian, too.

You can amp up the protein with some black beans, if you wish.  Or add some salsa if you’re feeling really wild.

Simple is all you want sometimes.

(p.s. bring on the sunshine)

Leave a Reply

