Classic Lasagna with Meat Sauce

I’m not going to jinx anything but I’m really hoping we’ve seen the last of winter weather.  As much as I’ve loved the extra sleep, I’m kind of over my plans being changed and not knowing what each day holds.  Not to mention that my 5am workouts are my sanity and I haven’t had one of those since Tuesday.  Woof.

Last night we had plans to go to a Napa Cab Wine Class but that obviously was cancelled.  So instead of making another snack plate, I decided I would make an ultra-comforting dinner and enjoy a glass of wine since that was originally in the books.

Before I even started on the Classic Lasagna with Meat Sauce, I selected a wine to be uncorked.  We’ll call this glass of wine my liquid blanket.

The wine we opened was a 2013 Portalupi Barbera.

The wine is massive in an ultra d’Alba tradition, layer after layer of dark fruits and exotic spices, truffles, slate and pure power.
Delivering fruit with depth of flavor, color and structure, it provides a true Italian style experience.

I honestly don’t remember this wine being so incredible when we tasted it in Sonoma.  It’s BIG and JUICY and LUSCIOUS so full of flavor.  The wine totally surprised me and honestly was the highlight of my day (minus when Big Guy drove me to the gym because I was about to lose it being stuck inside).  This wine will age through 2022 so I’m hoping I can get my hands on another bottle.

Not only was the wine incredible – but it paired perfectly with the lasagna.  I’ve honestly never made classic lasagna before and I was impressed with this “light” recipe.

The only changes I made was using whole milk ricotta (I had some left over from our gnocchi) and I used gluten-free lasagna noodles.  And they worked like a charm.

classic lasagna

The house smelled amazing after 45 minutes of waiting and I couldn’t wait to dig into the cheesy goodness.

lasagna

A little green to make it even more gorgeous.

Perfectly tender noodles.  Rich and creamy cheese layers with a meat sauce that begged for a juicy glass of red wine.

Take that, Winter.

Leave a Reply

