Coffee-Rubbed Prime Rib Roast with Roasted Garlic Gorgonzola Butter

One of the greatest sources of happiness for me is cooking for others.  Whether it’s a cake for a coworker or dinner for a friend that just had a baby.

My love of food (and wine) is a gift that I want to share with as many folks as possible.

Cooking for others is also a great way for me to tell a friend “Thank You.”

As I’ve hinted on the blog, we’re redecorating our living room (and the entryway!) in our house.  After five years, I’m ready for a change.  A couple of weeks ago, I talked Big Guy into this idea and now we’re full-speed ahead.  I’m not near as talented with fabrics and design as I am with recipes and ingredients so I turned to one of my dearest friends for help.  Marlo has an eye for style and I find that we have really similar tastes (her living room is one of my favorite places ever) when it comes to decorating.  She’s been my go-to the past couple of weeks.  In fact, she started a secret Pinterest board for her and me titled “Emily and Big Guy’s House.”  And things are finally starting to come together.

On Sunday, after Big Guy and I spent hours looking at furniture and debating paint colors and flipping through wallpaper books, Marlo and her husband came over to help me finalize a few decisions.  More than anything, I needed affirmation.

Instead of simply having her come over to look at samples, I planned to cook Sunday Supper for us all.  A while back Marlo commented on a blog post that featured Coffee-Rubbed Prime Rib Roast with Roasted Garlic Gorgonzola Butter and what better time to cook prime rib roast than on a Sunday in February.

A recipe like this is less about the recipe and more about the ingredients.  Quality ingredients.

I couldn’t help but fall in love with the veggies that are the base of this dinner – brussels, carrots (purple, red and orange) and onions.

The meat is rubbed with a mixture that included coffee grounds (don’t worry – you can’t taste the coffee at all), brown sugar, paprika, chili powder, ginger, vanilla beans, salt and pepper.

I actually doubled the rub amount to make sure there was plenty.

The meat cooked on top of the veggies in a 450 degree oven for 30 minutes and then reduced to 350 degrees where it cooked for an hour longer. Make sure to check the internal temperature of the meat – the only way you can ruin prime rib is by overcooking.

And if this dinner couldn’t be more decadent, a Gorgonzola and roasted garlic butter was made to serve with the prime rib.

The end result is swoon worthy.  Tender brussels with just the right amount of caramalization; onions that literally melt in your mouth; carrots with so much sweetness it’s insane; and a prime rib so juicy and flavorful that you won’t understand how anyone could be a vegetarian (not hating – promise!).

And the butter?  Pure decadence.  Not too blue – and a little sweetness from the roasted garlic.

I’m drooling just thinking about it.

Let’s be honest, I’ll cook for Marlo any day if she keeps being my interior decorator.

2 thoughts on “Coffee-Rubbed Prime Rib Roast with Roasted Garlic Gorgonzola Butter

  1. First off, you have a fabulous eye yourself! All you needed was for someone else to assure you of what you already picked out. I can’t wait to have many, many more Sunday dinners in your newly designed place!!

Leave a Reply

