Moroccan-Spiced Pork Chops with Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Lemony Green Beans

Sometimes I set my expectations too high and I am disappointed.  Other times I don’t really expect much and I end up being blown away by the end result.

Whether it’s food or people, I’m sure we’ve all experienced this in life.

And on Friday night, I was blown away by a dinner that I wasn’t sure would be anything special.

Pork chops.  They can be boring.

And mashed sweet potatoes – been there, done that.

I don’t think I even have to explain why green beans could be seen as dull.

But boring and dull are not how I would describe Moroccan-Spiced Pork Chops with mashed sweet potatoes and lemony green beans.

In fact, this dinner was worthy of a glass of wine.

morrocan pork chops

To ensure that the whole dinner is ready at the same time, get started on your potatoes first.  I cut up the potatoes (the last of our sweet potato stash) and placed in a pot of cold water.  Bring the potatoes to a boil and cook until fork tender.  While the potatoes were cooking, I made the red pepper sauce that was incredible and should totally be in the title of the dish.  The red pepper sauce is a mix of roasted red peppers, almonds (for a lovely texture and nuttiness), garlic, coriander and cumin whirled together with a little bit of EVOO to bring together the sauce.  Once the sauce was prepared, I seasoned the pork chops with all the spices that were going to be in the potatoes (this is an extra flavor addition that isn’t in the original recipe):  coriander, cumin, cinnamon, allspice, salt and pepper.  The pork chops are seared until cooked through.  Once the sweet potatoes are tender, drain and mash them along with coconut milk (I had an already-opened-can that was begging to be used) and all the above spices.  The green beans are simply steamed and then tossed with a pat of butter and the juice of half a lemon before being sprinkled with salt and pepper.

This wine-worthy dinner comes together in about 40 minutes and is truly special.  So many flavors from the Moroccan-inspired spices.

For our wine, we poured a 2012 Meredith Estate Pinot Noir.  

merry edwards

The aroma had hints of berries and wildflowers while the wine was incredibly smooth on the tongue.  Despite being a Pinot Noir it was rich and full without being heavy.  An incredible wine that I highly suggest sipping.

 

Leave a Reply

