Curried Coconut Soup with Chicken

I’m in a funk.  I haven’t had work for the past two days.  I haven’t been able to go to be gym for three days.  And I’m about to lose it.

This is why I hate snow/ice.

And I hate it with a passion.

But there’s nothing I can do except keep warm.  Because even though the snow is going to disappear, the cold weather is only getting colder.  I’m talking record low temperatures around our parts.

Brrrrrr.

Curried Coconut Soup with Chicken will not only warm your tummy but it will warm your soul.  And that’s kind of what I need this week.

The soup comes together pretty quickly thanks to a short-cut item from your local grocery store:  a rotisserie chicken.

The broth is made first by combining chicken broth and coconut milk with a sauteed mixture of onion, garlic and red curry paste.  The broth is brought to a boil and then simmered for 20 minutes.

While the broth simmers, shred your chicken (though I typically go ahead and shred my chicken the day I buy it – it seems to shred better when warm), prep your other ingredients and bring another pot of water to a boil so you can cook your noodles.

Combine the shredded chicken, your sliced cukes, torn basil, sambal oelek, and sesame oil.

The noodles take NO time to cook.  Simply drop into the boiling water and stir to separate.  Remove from the heat and allow them to cook for 5 minutes.

In each serving bowl, a little noddles, a little bit of the chicken mixture and a whole lot of warming broth along with a squeeze of lime.

Comfort.

That’s what this is.

Leave a Reply

