{Virtual} Coffee Chat

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you tell you about our cheese plate last weekend.  I’m still thinking about the cheese plate.  The manchego was my favorite and I adored the Spicy Fennel, Orange and Garlic Marinated Olives that we made to go along with the cheese.  p.s. The olives only get better the longer they sit.  Need help putting together a cheese plate?  Take notes from Jessica.

If we were having coffee this morningI would tell you about the bottle of wine that we enjoyed with the above cheese plate.  We shipped this bottle home from Sonoma and the wine was so much better than I remember.  Perhaps it’s because after a week of red wine it all starts to run together.  But I’m not complaining.  The bottle was from Papapietro Perry, one of the first vineyards we visited on our trip.

Papapietro Perry Winery specializes in small lots of handcrafted, single-vineyard designate Pinot Noir and Zinfandel produced from the finest grapes the Russian River, Anderson and Dry Creek Valleys have to offer.  In addition, we are now producing a limited amount of Chardonnay.

Along with our continuing passion for Pinot Noir and Zinfandel, our mission is to assist you in enjoying one of life’s pleasures—the union of good food, good wine and good friends.

This particular bottle is a 2012 Pinot Noir from Peters Vineyard in the Russian River Valley.  This beautiful wine is juicy with notes of cherry and spice and paired perfectly with the smorgasbord of food.  We actually brought home two bottles of this particular wine and we are going to age the other bottle.  This bottle will age well until 2022.

 

pinot noir

 

If we were having coffee this morning…I will tell you that I plan on featuring more about the wine that we enjoy.  Trust me – it won’t be a daily thing, probably not even weekly.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would suggest you visit Ilios Noche if you’re ever in Charlotte and in need of a lunch or dinner spot.  I took my sister and my brother’s girlfriend to lunch on Saturday and we all loved our meal.  To start, we all ordered a drink.  A Pinot Noir (from the Russian River Valley!) for Maggie, a glass of Reisling for Jamie J and a Late Summer cocktail for me.

LATE SUMMER (smooth, fresh vanilla and juniper notes, full body) Bombay Sapphire, fresh cucumber, St. Germain elderflower,cucumber bitters

Oh, and we shared an order of the Baked Goat Cheese with Herbs.  It was served with the most delicious buttered bread ever. And for lunch, I ordered the Fennel and Grape Salad with Salmon.  Maggie ordered the Fig Pizza and it was ahhh-mazing.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you about the delicious Brussels Sprouts Gratin that we had last Saturday.  These were served alongside a juicy steak (wrapped in bacon!) and roasted potatoes.

brussels gratin

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you how much I miss my family and how happy my heart was last weekend for all of us to be reunited for Deacon’s baptism.  (my sister-in-law is not pictured but it’s not because I don’t love her.)  Any one that knows me knows how much I adore my family.  It makes me want to live closer.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would point out my annoying hair.  I have a few pieces of hair that can’t seem to decide which side of the part they want to be on and so they just stick out straight.  Not a good look.  I feel like the awkward Emily that I was in middle school.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would remind you that God’s got it.  Whatever it is for you, He’s got it under control.

If we were having coffee this morning…I would tell you that one of my tricks to getting through a cold winter is BRIGHT nails.  I am currently rocking “Dutch Tulips” from OPI on both my fingers and my toes and it just makes me smile.  Oh, and a stack of bangles never hurt either.

dutch tulips

 

2 thoughts on “{Virtual} Coffee Chat

    • It was incredible and the recipe is from the Food Network which I linked in the post. The brussels are cleaned before being boiled for about 10 minutes. They are then chopped and added to a baking dish with cream (this is not a light recipe!), salt, pepper and some fresh nutmeg (instead of the of the crushed red pepper). Topped with cheese and panko and baked to perfection.

Leave a Reply

