Picadillo Sloppy Joes

When most people think of Sloppy Joes, they think of Manwich.  You know, “the taste that makes everyone smile.”

And while I have most certainly eaten a Manwich before, I don’t think it’s been since middle school.

Picadillo Sloppy Joes require a little more work than just opening up a can and mixing with cooked ground beef but the result is insane.

I literally have never tasted a Sloppy Joe this delicious in my life.  But I’m not really sure I’ve ever had a gourmet Sloppy Joe.

If a gourmet Sloppy Joe exists, this is it.

Since I keep a fairly well stocked kitchen, I had almost all of the pantry ingredients on hand.

Ground beef is browned in a sauteed mixture of onions and garlic.  Then comes the flavor.  A spice mixture of cinnamon, cumin and oregano is added to the mixture and the aroma fills the room.  Once the spices wake-up (cook for a minute or so), crushed tomatoes, raisins (instead of currants), capers and olives are added.  The capers and olives add a wonderful briny flavor.  After that simmers for 20 minutes, cilantro, pickled jalapeno and red wine vinegar finishes the Sloppy Joe mixture.

The mixture is served on a bun with Bibb lettuce, complete with grilled red onions.  A sandwich fit for a king.

Not only was this sandwich delicious but it was incredibly sloppy.  Be prepared – you’ll need two napkins.  And perhaps a fork.

I’m sorry, Manwich.  It’s not you, it’s me.

 

Leave a Reply

