Crisp Cauliflower Fritters {and nacho goodness}

You have no idea how good it feels to be back in the kitchen.  In fact, that’s one of the things I miss most when I’m on vacation.

So on Sunday morning, I grabbed my green juice, textbooks cookbooks, a notepad and a pen and started menu planning for the week.  The menu came together quite easily and I have my craving for healthy food to thank.

But first let’s rewind to the glorious nachos that made my life complete on Sunday.  I’ve been craving nachos like WHOA and I knew that’s what we were going to have on Superbowl Sunday.  But we totally could not make up our minds as to what kind of nachos.  Big Guy was obsessing over the smoker so I finally gave in and the man had some one-on-one time with The Bandit while smoking ribs.  He smoked ’em, bathed ’em, grilled ’em and sauced ’em and finalllllllly we were able to make nachos.  In addition to the pork, the nachos included fontina queso, more cheese, salsa, Greek yogurt and jalapenos.  It’s what my nacho dreams are made of. And yes, I have nacho dreams.

I may or may not have also made a fun Superbowl drank for myself.  A ginger shandy that was a mix of 2 parts IPA, 1 part Ginger Beer and 1 part limeade.

I just couldn’t bring myself to drink wine with this mess of a platter and football.

Back to the Cauliflower Fritters…they seem so boring compared to the above.  But they’re not!

Despite the fact that I am not a lover of raw cauliflower I find it quite lovely when cooked.  And even more lovely with brightened by lemon zest.  These crispy vegetarian fritters are a combination of steamed, mashed cauliflower, chopped onion and shredded potatoes mixed with two eggs and and a little flour (I used rice-flour, but I think all-purpose would work best) to hold them together.  For flavor, garlic, lemon zest and cheddar cheese are added to the cauliflower mixture.  Once combined, form into fritters and lightly pan-“fry” until crisp and cooked through.

The fritters are served with a tangy sauce that combines Greek yogurt, a little mayo, lemon juice, green onions and a sprinkle of salt.  Do not serve the fritters without the sauce.  Trust me.

I know they aren’t near as pretty as the nachos but my body was actually craving this kind of meal made complete with a side salad.

feb dinner

And no, I didn’t stay up for the whole game.

I proudly made it until half-time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

