OSO {Sonoma Restaurant Review}

I wish I could walk you through our trip to Sonoma bite by bite and sip by sip.  I tried my best to live in the moment while still capturing pictures that could do Sonoma justice.  No blog post I ever write will give Sonoma the credit it deserves for being one of my favorite places in the world.  But I wanted to at least give you a glimpse into one of my favorite dinners.  In fact, I think this dinner was a favorite for all four of us.

{photo}

If I had to describe OSO, I might use the words rustic and modern.  Opposites yet when married together as beautifully as they are at OSO you would think they belong together.  Like I said, the restaurant decor is perfect.  Not too fussy but you know that thought and work was put into the vibe that they’ve created.  It’s a comfortable restaurant where you don’t feel the need to whisper and if you drop a fork you don’t have to worry about everyone staring at you in disbelief.  The service was impeccable.

OSO is the type of restaurant where I would suggest ordering a bunch of dishes and sharing with the table – my favorite way to eat!  And that is just what we did.  (There is also a 5-course tasting option, which is a great way to eat through a menu.)

oysters

 

To start, we ordered oysters – 6 from the California Coast and 6 from Washington State.  I could tell a difference between the two oysters and I think I preferred the ones from Washington State (though I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference if I tried one without the other).  I loved the soy dipping sauce but they were also incredible with just a squeeze of lemon juice.

crab eggs

Along with the oysters, we just had to try the crab deviled eggs.  Deviled eggs are such a Southern staple and you’ll find them at every pot luck dinner you go to.  But these aren’t your granny’s deviled eggs and they are to-date my favorite deviled eggs either.  (Though I hear Ryan makes a mean deviled egg so I’ll be expecting a plate when I come visit.)

fish of the day

Up next, the Raw Fish of the Day.  For the life of me, I cannot remember what fish was featured but I want to say salmon.  It was served with bright citrus, refreshing cumbers and hazelnuts.  My favorite bites included the fresh citrus.  The only thing I wanted more of was salt.  It needed a little extra sprinkle but overall I loved the delicateness of the dish.

shrimp

And just when you thought we might be getting full, grilled romaine and shrimp.  I adore grilled romaine and therefore I thought this dish was fantastic.  Big Guy really enjoyed the simplicity of this dish which I have to agree with – not every plate has to be fussy and fancy.

himachi

The hamachi collar (section behind the head and gills) is one of the most “sacred” parts of a fish because you only get one per fish.  The chef kindly served us a plate of the most tender, flavorful fish.  Some people may not give this part of the fish a second glance and it ends up in the trash (or thrown back into the ocean) but it’s worth eating.  Trust me.

pork riblets

Even before going to OSO, I knew I wanted to try the pork riblets.  Tender pork bites flavored with lime, red onion, Thai chili and cilantro.  Such a depth of flavor with notes of freshness from red onion and cilantro.

unknown

I’m going to be honest, I have no idea what this dish is but I do know that it was incredible.  {To edit…my husband just reminded me that this is wahoo.  Correct me if I’m wrong, Sarah or Ryan.}

And finally….sweets!

dessert

A butterscotch pudding at the top and a bread pudding on the bottom.  I fell head-over-heals with the bread pudding which isn’t typically my favorite type of dessert.  Perfectly sweet without being over the top and I managed to make room for several bites.

And then I was full.

Amazing staff, incredible wine, plates that made us all say “mmmmm” over and over again.

If you’re ever in the Sonoma area (or even in San Fran – it’s worth the 45 minute drive), I highly recommend OSO.

Can I go back now?

Leave a Reply

